Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Testing on animals is an extremely controversial matter since many argue that it should be banned while others believe it is essential to the advance in scientific breakthroughs. This essay discusses if experiments on animals can be justified and then presents alternatives to this practice. There are situations where testing on animals should be accepted. Although some individuals may think that it is cruel to do this, I believe that it is sometimes necessary in order to have advances in medicine. When scientists are developing a new drug that could cure a disease that has been killing people for decades they need to make sure it is safe and actually works. Therefore, it is essential that they test it on animals first and see how they react because then they can make the adjustments until it is perfect. However, in some situations, there are alternatives for that. Firstly, with the advances in technology nowadays it is possible to create computer models of basically everything which could be used instead of testing a new cosmetic on dogs, for example. Another possible solution is to recruit volunteers for scientists to test their discoveries. Although sometimes it may be difficult to have people volunteering since not everybody is willing to have a new drug injected into their bodies, the results will be more accurate, consequently, the overall development can be faster. For instance, with the pandemic caused by COVID 19, thousands of people volunteered to be infected with the virus so scientists could test which drugs would work better and develop a vaccine. In conclusion, experimentation on animals is a controversial topic, but I believe that there are some situations where it is justified such as testing cures for diseases. However, there are alternatives like computer models and finding volunteers which should be used more every day.