Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development ?

An increasing number of people meet and talk to their friends online instead of in person. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to isolation, potentially harmful situations and also problems later on in life. This essay explains why it is a negative development, followed by a reasoned conclusion. One serious problem that can arise for people socialising online is that it can lead to isolation. Before the internet, people would frequently go out to meet friends, for example in cafes, bars or restaurants, whereas now people prefer to stay at home alone, chatting online. As a result, people are starting to spend the majority of their time alone at home in their room without meeting others. Isolation of this kind is not healthy and can sometimes lead to depression and other issues. Another issue is that meeting online can be risky. In other words, the population can assume fake identities online as well as hide their true characteristics. This is particularly concerning for teenagers who are impressionable and can easily be led into dangerous situations. Furthermore, as this interaction is online, parents have no way of monitoring it and protecting their children. Finally, socialising online can end in difficulties years later as conversations and shared photos that had been forgotten reappear. This situation is currently critical for many communities, again especially for teenagers who do not think carefully before posting online. That is to say, information that is put online can remain there forever and while folk may share intimate communication with close friends, these words can resurface later on leading to much embarrassment. In conclusion, although it has become more popular for the public to socialise through the internet, it has brought about too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.