International travel is becoming cheaper and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourist. Do the advantages of increased tourists outweigh disadvantages.

The world has become a global village with the advent of powerful commercial jet engines, flight tickets have become cheaper and most countries have been promoting tourism on an unprecedented scale. I believe, the advantages of having a huge influx of globetrotters visiting a country are more significant when compared to its disadvantages. The travel industry must be promoted to sustain a healthy economy. To begin with, let us analyze the merits of promoting tourism. Firstly, tourism boosts the revenue of the economy in the form of import duties, taxes etc. Secondly, it creates thousands of jobs, develops the infrastructures of a country, and plants a sense of cultural exchange between foreigners and native inhabitants. Lastly, it paves a way to establish strategic alliances between several countries. For example, Switzerland has a bilateral agreement with several nations and therefore they have become a safe haven for numerous businesses around the world. On the contrary, tourism also has its own downsides. Allowing a large number of travellers to places like natural sanctuaries can have everlasting damages to the ecosystem due to pollution. The aboriginals might become vulnerable to diseases that originated from different countries. For instance - In recent times, most outbreaks namely Ebola, SARS, COVID have become pandemic because of the large number of travellers. Another major concern is the inflation in the real estate market, a recent study shows a direct correlation between the number of tourists visiting a place and the increase in habitat prices around the vicinity. To sum up, the advantages of increased tourists outweigh the disadvantages.