Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals think that interdependency amongst humans is increasing owing to the modern world. However, others take a side of that people have become less independent with the advent of technology when compared to the past. In my opinion, the interconnectivity between people is increasing with technological breakthroughs. The aim of this essay is to discuss the argument with the merits and the demerits of this debate. On the one hand, there is a broad consensus amongst experts that current technological development such as the internet, mobile phones and applications have been bringing a revolution in the connection of humans. For this reason, reaching someone is easier like never before. With the development of the internet, everyone is interconnecting with each other and as a consequence of it, there is no doubt that the dependency amongst people is increasing. For example, there are many voluntary work opportunities for travelling and meeting new cultures, which is why cultural convergence can go up amongst societies. Thus, doubtlessly the only thing that amongst people is physical borders nowadays. On the other hand, people have assimilated a more individualistic approach in the current time due to the capitalistic world. The material consideration is increased for everyone and the main priority of people is to afford their fundamental needs first. As a consequence of it, people have become more competitive and less interconnected since the beginning of the industrial revolution. For instance, the main aim for many individuals is to gain social mobility for comfortable life, which is why it can be seen clearly, all the opportunities that are provided in the modern times, however people ought to take care for themselves as the significant priority and for this reason people have been becoming more independent due to material consideration. To summarize, although material consideration and competition cause more self-oriented behaviour amongst people, it is important to bear in mind that cutting-edge development has provided a paramount opportunity to connect with each other, which is why the connectivity is increasing exponentially.