Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Through years ordinances have evolved in order to build a better society. Nowadays in most countries, the so-called law's evolution must ensure that human rights are protected. Bearing this in mind, when deciding on the punishment, I strongly believe that the circumstances and motivation for committing a crime should always be deemed. Supportive reasons will be stated in the next paragraphs. To have a fixed sanction for each sort of crime might sound reasonable for many people, as several crimes are entirely unforgivable and a severe penalty is to be expected. For instance, society expects that crimes related to children's integrity receive the maximum sanction possible. However, in order to grant all human rights, criminals undergo a judicial process as it not the same to hit a minor or to rape him. Therefore, despite people's expectations, the respective court proceedings and required evaluations must be followed in order to assure a reasonable penalty. On the other hand, reasons and motivations when committing a crime should be evaluated to provide the most accurate punishment possible. Even though some crimes have no explanation, others might have. For example, it is not the same to kill someone for xenophobic reasons or to kill him in self - defence. Unless all factors are considered when deciding a serious legal punishment, judges may incur injustice sanctions. To sum-up, a lot of people believe in fixed sanctions, nonetheless it is worth evaluating all possible surrounding factors before giving a final word. Studies predict than in the upcoming years, worldwide ordinances will be reformed in accordance with basic human rights.