Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can the government do to reduce the amount of waste produced?

A highly alarming issue today relates to the amount of rubbish that is produced. This essay discusses, in my opinion, what are the reasons for this, and suggests measures that the government could take to diminish waste production. It is noticeable that we are producing more rubbish than we used to produce before. In my opinion, this is happening due to consumerism, which is out of control. It is part of the current world the addiction to buying things, and, as the products are not made to last, people produce more waste than ever before. To illustrate, many technological devices last less than 2 years and the final result is to become rubbish. In addition, I believe people are not worried about recycling, which would be essential to reduce the amount of waste produced. Therefore, the result is the increasing and alarming amount of rubbish threatening the environment. However, the menace of rubbish production can be fought. I believe the government has a special role, and some measures could be taken to solve this problem. First, it is important that the authority makes campaigns related to conscient consumerism. For example, I believe schools and universities should have lectures about how to avoid overbuying. Second, the government should also invest in recycling because the majority of the waste can be recycled. For instance, places designed to receive recyclable waste could be created. To sum up, the uncontrolled consumerism and the lack of recycling is the main reason why so much waste is produced nowadays. To tackle this problem, the authority should invest in education and the collection of items that can be recycled.