Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In today's world, it is believed by some part of the population that the government should impose laws to encourage people to recycle more. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possible benefits of legislation and, secondly, it will analyse the problems of this development. To begin with, on the one hand, if new laws are introduced humans will be obligated to recycle or reuse their own property that, in turn, is likely to improve the ecology. This is because of the fact that not only does everything depend on people's understanding of the global issue but also legislation can stimulate more people to become eco-friendly and contribute to improvements in the environment. Therefore, if there are some fines or, on the contrary, bonuses, more and more waste will be recycled from houses. For example, one recent research has shown that when recycling has become a legal requirement in Ukraine, the amount of waste decreased by 10% in 3 months. However, on the other hand, it might be better to encourage people by introducing other means such as a powerful advertising campaign or other social activities. This is due to the fact that not only might there be some disputes and arguments due to the fact that recycling becomes obligatory but also some people might not have an opportunity to do it. As a result, this new scheme might fail unless proper research is made to predict the actions of citizens. For instance, one study has illustrated that when human beings are forced to do something they are less likely to be eager to do it. Eventually, to conclude, I am firmly convinced that the only possible way to increase recycling is to introduce it as a legal requirement. The main reason for this is that it is likely to help to control the whole process and stimulate more consumers to recycle waste.