Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The Olympic Games are held every four years and people around the world can participate. However, some may argue that these events are not important and that the money invested in organizing these activities could be used for other alarming issues. In my opinion, preparing for the Olympic Games is quite expensive but brings benefits to the organizing country. The main purpose of organizing Olympic tournaments is to attract tourists and athletes from all over the world. This benefits the country as its financial status will increase. For example, the government earns more profit when selling tickets to tournaments around the world. This will enhance the country's economic position on a larger scale than the money spent on preparations. Therefore, people will enjoy a high standard of living. On the other hand, some people believe that these events are very expensive. They like to use their money effectively and efficiently. For example, in developing countries where people struggle to make ends meet it may be found irresponsible for governments to invest in these games instead of providing them with a better quality of life. More worrying problems like poverty or malnutrition could be alleviated if money was pumped into the economy and helped the poor. In short, the Olympic games really benefit the country that has the means to host them. I believe this has a positive impact on the tourism industry. However, the government should not rely solely on these events to maintain a good standard of living.