Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In today's world, it can be clearly observed that more and more school graduates prefer other specializations to science subjects. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possible reasons for this tendency and, secondly, it will analyse its impact on the society. To begin with, on the one hand, the main reason for such kind of a development is that there is a small amount of career opportunities and promotion in the sphere of science. This is because of the fact that not only do scientists have really small salaries unless they work in huge laboratories and have a significant task but also this field of work is becoming less and less popular among teenagers since they consider it to be boring. Therefore, there is a lower demand for degrees related to science including chemistry, biology and physics and, consequently, there are less graduates of scientific department. For example, one recent research has shown that the number of students who are studying one of the degrees mentioned above has fallen by 20% comparing Change the form of the verb compared show examples to the last decade. Moreover, this tendency is likely to have a devastating influence on the world and the humanity such as the lack of professionals in some vital industries. This is due to the fact that not only can science graduates become doctors and save million lives but also they can invent new medicines or some technological goods that might improve the quality of life and stimulate economic growth. As a result, with a scarcity of these specialists the world might slow down its development and might have a lack of people for crucial jobs such as doctors. For instance, one study has illustrated that during the coronavirus pandemic there is a considerable lack of medics and humans who can work in hospitals. Eventually, to conclude, the main visible reason for this issue is that salaries received by scientists are miserable and there are no future prospects and opportunities. Hence, it might lead to a scarcity of proffesionals and a lack of those who can treat or invent that, in turn, is likely to slow down the development of the world.