More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world. Do you agree or disagree?

Brain drain is becoming increasingly popular especially in the fields of engineering, IT and hospitals. Some say it’s a natural process and professionals opt to move for their better future whilst; others say that it’s not fair for the developing countries as they need the trained workers more than the developed countries. In my opinion, backward nations are being affected by this badly and this is one of the reasons behind poverty and corruption in these nations. Qualified workers tend to immigrate to wealthy land for a promising future. The compensation and perks they are awarded in those stated are far better than what they can get in their own land. Thousands of people apply rigorously for work permits every year. For instance, Canadian embassy records show that they had received applications of over five hundred thousand in the year 2020. In addition to that, it had received double than forms for a study visa. Even though it's hard to get acquainted with the new culture and norms, still the public prefers to settle there. Hence, a secured future and lucrative salary are the main motivating factors behind moving to a developed country. Developing countries are being affected worse by the brain drain. Countries like India, Bangladesh and Pakistan are prime examples. Unfortunately, millions of people who have studied and educated in these places, despite helping their own public, leave, igniting the debate of wastage of resources of a state. Moreover, their own land has the first right on its people. Thus, considering a large number of visa's cases in the past, governments of developing countries are legislating against brain drain and making it mandatory to serve in their own country. It has been noted in Bangladesh, with the restrictions of engineers travelling for jobs, the infrastructure is improved drastically in the last five years. To conclude, I believe, even though immigration for work is lucrative for the individuals but not so good for the overall prosperity and growth of the society.