Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation?

The Tech industry employs a significantly large workforce in India, especially the youth. Although this is true, the picture is skewed when we look at the gender distribution of jobs, with only 20% of them being held by females. This essay elaborates on the problems that prevent more women from getting these jobs and gives some practical solutions to the issue. To begin with the problems, most technology giants have their offices in metropolitan cities like Banglore, where people stay in nuclear families. So the responsibility of the household chores and children ends up on the shoulders of the woman in the family due to the absence of the elder generation in the house. Thus, they end up having less time for their professional work and end up leaving their spot. This reduces their number in employment significantly. For example, my aunt, a software engineer had to resign from her job when my cousin was born as she had no one to look after the baby. Secondly, in this society with a patriarchal world view, women are still viewed as less efficient and less worthy as compared to their male counterparts and are always second on the priority list while getting a job or a promotion. For instance, the majority of sales directors of most multinational companies are men for the same reason. A possible solution that can be offered, to tackle these issues is that husbands take up the responsibilities of the house and free up the woman's time. For instance, my aunt's husband changed his place of employment so that she could work as well. In addition to this, awareness needs to be created that females are equally efficient, if not more at handling all tasks. Examples that can be cited are Sudha Murthy, the co-founder of Infosys. In a nutshell, in spite of having problems, like nuclear families and a male-dominated societal mindset, that deter women from having flourishing careers, solutions such as sharing responsibilities as a family and changing the patriarchal world view can help change the current scenario.