Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid this?

Farming is the starting point of every nation, however in this day and age; younger generation has hung back from taking up farming as an occupation. Analysing that farming as a job seems to be socially non prestigious and grants no access to credit. On the other hand, it can be remedied by creating awareness and solving the issue of access to credit. For starters, a lot of youths have refused to venture into farming as a profession because it appears to be socially non-prestigious. Somehow, the society brings down farming as an occupation. For instance, there is this feeling that the public looks down on youths who shows interest in farming as a job, as a matter of fact; this makes a graduate youths have inferiority complex when they think about farming as a career option because the society makes them believe that once they fail, they cannot bounce back. In addition, having no access to credit is also a reason why youngsters fail to choose farming as a job. Banks and financial institutions often turn down farmers in making because they think farming is not a feasible business. Therefore, they refuse to borrow money to farmers because they feel farming is not profitable. Likewise, the financial institution is of the opinion that land is not a sufficient source enough to be used as collateral. In contrast, there are various ways young people can be inspired to take up farming as a career. One of which is to create awareness. The government should take the initiative to educate the population about farming practises, precision farming and its sustainability that acquire remunerative income. For example, youths should be educated that going into farming can help them earn a financially worthwhile income than other jobs. Additionally, to help tackle the issue of access to credit. Investors, organisations and supporters should be called on with the aim of connecting young entrepreneurs by establishing and strengthen the micro-lending institution that gives young men and women the kick-start they need for their business. For example, setting up micro finance institution and programme to help train youngsters, manage, monitor, and grant them access to loan, to start and expand their farming business. In summary, regardless that young men and women hesitate to enter into farming as a profession due to reasons like socially non prestigious and no access to credits. However, it is cleared that these reasons can also be solved by sensitization and obtaining loan.