International tourism has greatly benefited many places. However, there were serious concerns about its impacts on local environment and residents. Do the negative impacts of international tourism outweigh the benefits?

Over the course of the last decades, the number of international holidaymakers has increased dramatically. While some individuals claim that this trend has drastic effects on both the residents and the environment, the advantages of tourism, such as its significant role in fostering a community’s economy and culture, are undeniable. Admittedly, like any other human activity, tourism also triggers some challenges. Those who stress the downsides of international travelling complain that due to the over-utilization of aircraft, the quality of air has been extremely deteriorated. In other words, they believe air pollution has increased as a result of high levels of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. Furthermore, they support the idea that the crime rate in many holidaymaking destinations like Istanbul and Paris, has significantly soared. Nevertheless, the benefits that tourism offers to societies cannot be neglected. First and foremost, the tourism industry creates more job opportunities for the residents, for example, locals can find an occupation in hotels and restaurants without any inconvenience. Therefore, the economy of that area will be improved gradually. Take Turkey as an example, a great number of people flock to Antalya during their holidays, so more job vacancies are available in this region of Turkey. In addition, an indigenous language and culture can be introduced to visitors from all around the world. In summary, I highly believe that although international exploration has some negative impacts on the world, its positive effects on a country’s economy together with contributions to preserving and promoting the culture, is far more crucial.