The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

Punitive actions against criminals often include sentencing them to prisons. It is a growing view that this system of confinement is ineffective at reforming those with charges of felony as a large number of them return to committing crimes as soon as they are released. This essay elaborates on the issues with the current prison system and discusses practical ways to reach the solution of these problems. To begin with, jails are poorly maintained facilities where all felons with a thought process inclined towards criminal ideas stay together. Plus, there are no counselling facilities for such convicts who want to try and shift their focus on constructive work. So, they end up getting caught up in the same stream of ideas. Secondly, there is no constructive work or vocational training offered in most jails. Thus, the empty minds of in-mates end up being devil's workshops. Lastly, even if a person wants to leave the world of crime post his release from the facility, most employers end up rejecting such candidates. For example, most multinational companies have a condition in the contract of having no criminal background. Focusing on the solutions, firstly what needs to be done is that these prisoners need to be counselled. So instead of penitentiarys penitentiary, they can be sentenced to counselling centres where they will be attended by specialists and taught how to channelise their mind towards the right thoughts. Moreover, vocational courses can be offered at such facilities so that the candidates become employable. For instance, Kiran Bedi (the jailor) at Tihar jail had started such courses for prisoners. Finally, job bureaus can be set up to bring these people into the mainstream after their release. e.g setting up internet portals like jobs.com. In conclusion, although there are problems with the current prison system, practical solutions are available and can benefit the convicts if implemented.