Some people think that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Public opinion on advertising is more divided than ever. Although a part of the population believes that advertising is effective in convincing us at buying things, the other part is of the view that advertisements are too common to catch any public attention to persuade us to buy products. This essay elaborates on both views and why in my opinion, advertising is successful at persuading us to buy products. To begin with, advertising has diversified in recent years into various branches. Not only does it now include print media, hoardings and television advertisement, but also small ad clippings that are shown on OTT platforms. For example, we are frequently made to watch YouTube ads compulsorily. Furthermore, algorithms of the web surfing software are based on the searches of the public and hence, adverts are tailored and presented to us based on what is going on in the potential consumers' mind. Thus, the audience is positively reinforced about what they are already thinking. This ends up tilting the decision of a person towards buying a product, especially when he is in a dual state of mind. The commercials in this way, are responsible for convincing the indecisive folk towards buying a product. A counter-argument to the above fact is that there is an overdose of advertising content is being fed to the public. For instance, whether it be print media or online platforms, there are a plethora of adverts that are present to the consumer. This results in the user ignoring any and all commercials altogether. Newspapers are loaded with adverts from the first to the last page. The same is the case with magazines and other print media as well. Online platforms are loaded with advertisements to the brim, so much so that the reader may get irritated with them and abandon his online reading completely. Thus,they fail to catch attention because of their commonality. Thus, in conclusion, I would opine that catchy advertisements presented to the public at appropriate places, at appropriate times help in convincing them to purchase products and in turn increasing sales. But broadcasts intruding with peoples work end up being invariably ignored.