Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

In today's world, it can be clearly observed that a larger number of mature people compete with younger members of the society for the same job vacancies. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possible consequences of this tendency and, secondly, it will analyse how this issue can be solved. To begin with, on the one hand, employers are likely to prefer younger applicants and, hence, it will lead to even higher rates of unemployment among old citizens. This is because of the fact that not only do younger employees have better skills but also they are modern and may have a fresh view on common problems. Therefore, if more mature applicants do not have a competitive advantage they are likely not to get a job and the number of old unemployed humans will increase. For example, recent research has shown that in Ukraine the number of unemployed people at the age of 60 and more has increased by 20% compared to the last decade. However, there are solutions for this problem which include a government intervention and an implementation of legislation. This is due to the fact that not only can the authority introduce laws that will obligate businesses to have 10% of employees aged 60 and over but also they may subsidise additional training for these workers. As a result, if the government intervene it may encourage companies to hire older people which are well-trained and are aware of all modern trends since they passed special training. For instance, in the UK, after the introduction of such kind of training the rate of unemployment has decreased by 20%. Eventually, to conclude, the main problem of this tendency is likely to be the fact that old people will not be able to get a job since they do not have a competitive advantage and standards of life are likely to be worse. Despite this, if the authority intervenes and introduces new legislation, businesses will have to hire old workers, which passed additional training, not to break the law.