in some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

"The retirement age is no longer fixed in many societies. As a consequence some workers now prefer to delay retirement as long as possible; others, however, choose to leave while they are still relatively young. There are pros and cons of prolonging work past the evacuation age. Some benefits can be easily identified. One clear advantage of delaying retirement is that it enables the maintenance of well-established routines. With age, regularity seems to become more important psychologically and physically. A second benefit is that most work provides opportunities for social contact with groups and individuals. Again, this is beneficial to a sense of wellbeing and usefulness. Lastly, working for longer enables greater time to build more savings for the post- retirement period. As living costs increase constantly, financial security is vital. On the other hand, working past retirement age is not always a good thing. Physically, a full- time job can be demanding especially these days, and workers of retirement age are starting to lose their physical strength. Secondly, after forty or more years of work, there is less time remaining to pursue those activities and trips for which there was never enough time. Many retired people, for example, undertake ambitious trips worldwide, while they are still healthy. Finally, staying on past retirement potentially robs younger workers of opportunities for promotion, or may prevent young workers from actually entering the workforce. Summing up, working past retirement is good for continuity of daily routines but shortens the time available for exciting leisure activities and pursuits during years when health problems may not yet have surfaced.” “Summing up, working past retirement is good for continuity of daily routines but shortens the time available for exciting leisure activities and pursuits during years when health problems may not yet have surfaced.”