The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Nowadays, smoking is one of the hazardous habits that humans share around the world. The number of smokers increases daily, whereas people have become aware of this manner's drastic consequence on the individual's and community's health. In this essay, I will declare the main causes of this situation, and I will suggest some measures that I believe could reduce the number of smokers in societies. There are two paramount reasons for smokers ’ insistence on holding on to their cigarettes and ignoring their dangers. Smoking is argued to have the power of releasing stress and triggering solutions for life's problems, deterring smokers from giving up the manner. Most Egyptian smokers, for instance, claim that cigarettes are the only method they could use to overcome their daily issues and to give them some relief through their days. Although this leads to the spread of lung cancer among global citizens, consumers insist on continuing this manner. Moreover, smoking is regarded as a fashionable trend that distributes the elite from the poor in many societies. This appears in some rich communities where using cigars and cigarettes is an essential class characteristic. Hence, acknowledging smoking as a psychological treatment and social image carrier exacerbates this phenomenon. Consequently, to deter smokers from continuing to hold on to this habit, governments should take some strict measures. Governments should legislate laws that prohibit smoking in public places. Japan, for example, has succeeded to ban smoking in restaurants, transportation and bars. Furthermore, administrations should impose high taxes on smoking utensils. That would ban middle class and poor smokers from allocating most of their fund to this habit and would give it a chance to launch specific awareness campaigns to a specific social class to raise awareness against this trend. In a word, the solution to decrease the number of Nicotine users in a society is in the hands of the administration. In conclusion, the problem of Nicotine consumption is exacerbating due to the arrogance of the human race to believe in science and the fake belief in this matter's ability to control their life's psychological and social status despite its well-known dangers. Thus, governments should exert remarkable efforts to prevent their citizens to buy this hazardous product.