In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that with the usage of technology on the rise, life is becoming easier and more practical every day. This phenomenon is providing us with all the information we need to read almost for free. Although I agree with this fact, and most probably in the next generation nobody will purchase printed newspaper or books, I believe a large number of individuals will still buy them as they are great fans of reading from the paper rather than from a screen that might cause a variety of health problems. On the one hand, a lot of people will cease buying printed newspapers or books because almost everything is posted on the internet almost for free or at least, at a more affordable price. Nowadays, individuals are able to scroll their phones in any social media app and get informed about what is happening in the entire world, as it has become entirely easy to indulge in this abundance of information without limits. For instance, Facebook is classified as the main platform to read news, as all newspapers around the world decide to publish their news there before printing them on paper. This is why there is a strong prospect that a great portion of our society will definitely stop acquiring printed books and newspapers. On the other hand, many people opt for buying paper because they truly enjoy different features, such as the smell and the texture, along with a desire for protecting themselves from visual impairments. Reading from paper brings an entirely different experience to many people as well as protects them from contracting any visual disease for being highly exposed to a screen for long periods of time. For example, recent research conducted in the United States by Harvard University, showed that in the last 5 years, 51% of eye diseases are related to long hours of exposition to computers and smartphones. Thus, plenty of people will be interested in acquiring printed books and newspapers for personal reasons. To sum up, though I agree in the upcoming year's lots of people will stop buying printed work due to the overwhelming increase in the usage of technology, I believe some individuals will maintain personal preferences and still will create a considerable demand for printed books and newspapers.