In cities, space for housing should be created by knocking down historic buildings. What is your opinion?

Demolishing historical monuments to build more housing buildings in the city has become a regular opinion. I completely disagree with the statement and this essay will elaborate in favour of the latter. Firstly, historical buildings are an essential part of a place's origin and culture. Developing cities do not understand the value and essence that brings, to the communities that surround them. Moreover, a few of these monuments are more than structures, they represent victory and emotion at various times in history. To illustrate, the India gate in New Delhi has names of Indian martyrs carved on its structure in respect of their contributions to the country. In fact, many young people are motivated to join the forces to leave a mark of their own on those walls. Furthermore, history has always been an inspiration for modern developments. For instance, old monuments around Delhi have always been admired for architectural brilliance, which promotes them across the globe. This helps the government generate more revenue and employment with increased tourism. Nevertheless to create more space for housing new residents in the town can be achieved through careful planning structures around the city to accommodate a large group of people comfortably or encouraging more people to live in rural areas by providing developments around villages can lead to people staying put and developing the country alongside. To conclude, knocking down historical buildings to create more space for housing will contribute to negative impacts on society. In my opinion, more space might be created through careful structure planning of the city but not compromising on the roots of the place.