Some people get into debt by buying things they do not need and cannot afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Some people splurge lots of money on unnecessary and unaffordable stuff. It leads them to get into debt. I think this is rooted in over-advertising and financial literacy, but there are some solutions. Firstly, advertising marketing is widespread on social media. Pervasive advertisements just accentuate the benefits of products, which causes people will be tempted to buy dispensable stuff. This means that they promote a consumption culture so that people spend money extravagantly and get into debt. The way to address this problem is that authorities will curb advertising companies. It can result in they will not advertise indiscriminately. For instance, nowadays TV programs broadcast advertising frequently, which causes people to be constantly exposed to the danger of pervasive advertising. The authorities should prohibit excessive broadcasting of advertisements on TV. In conclusion, people will not see excessive advertisements, so people will not be affected by them. Therefore, they will not expend too much money on unnecessary and pricy things. The second reason that causes this problem, is financial literacy. Some individuals are not aware of financial management to overcome instant shopping pleasure. They cannot preserve their budget and extravagant a lot of money. Finally, they fall into the trap of buying too much. For instance, some people cannot calculate their income and expenses, so they constantly splurge money on their interests. To counteract this problem, children from an early age should be taught how to manage their budget and save money for the future perspective. For instance, financial education units should be added to school curriculums. This will allow them to learn new knowledge to manage their budget and will not waste them. In conclusion, I think over-advertising and financial literacy are the reasons for this problem. However, it can be solved by some measures like curbing too many advertisements and teaching children in an early age at school.