In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Around the world, different regions can be classified in various levels of security, though an alarming increase in violence and felony has been seen in many of them through the years. In my point of view, whereas it can be explained by the negligence of public power or social conflicts of rich and poor people, there ought to be a solution to control this situation. One of the reasons for this is the growth of poverty due to unemployment and inequality. Usually, countries that face high levels of violence also deal with the concentration of great fortunes within small groups and a larger group surviving without access to basic needs, such as education, healthy nutrition and medical services. This contrast might lead to extreme actions, for example, one appealing to robbery or kidnapping in order to take the financial resources by force. Another pivotal cause is the absence of the state. A nation might collapse into crimes and aggression if its population finds itself abandoned. For instance, in the last years, the world becomes more aware of police violence against black people, often happening out of sight and as a reflection of the racism and isolation of poorer neighbourhoods. This exposition was only possible when the very same victims were able to afford a cellphone to record and broadcast those assaults. Although these detrimental scenarios point to a severe and generalized problem, the state holds the power to major transformations and deal with those causes. More than be responsible for security, the public power is also accountable for the population that can not thrive albeit its vulnerabilities. One way to diminish the lawlessness is the disposal of basic needs, such as education, sports, food and medical care, and a stable income for unemployed people. Countries considered safer had already adopted this so-called “basic income” in the last decades, with the goal and success of reducing conflicts between citizens. To sum up, the increase of infractions in many countries is a reflection of a struggling population and is largely associated with social problems that could be avoided if people’s necessities would be contemplated by law and actions from their governments.