Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree?

In the modern world, number of people involved in voluntary activities are becoming lesser and lesser every year. As a result, some people opine that prisoners have to be introduced in such kinds of activities, whereas other people argue in contradiction to the statement. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the statement. Firstly, people who were involved in anti-social activities should be given appropriate punishments instead of allowing them in community services because implementing strict laws on them would help to create awareness in them not to get involved in crimes again. In addition, this would help to induce fear not only on the criminals but also on the other people to prevent from leading a disastrous lifestyle. For instance, people who were involved in Delhi rape case was heavily punished which helped to maintain peace inside the whole country instead of letting them do unpaid services which would have encouraged them to do more crimes. As a result of such examples, it becomes easier for law enforcement officers to manage the crowd in an efficient manner. Secondly, instead of compelling them to interact with community services, they should be properly counselled in jail on how they should face the challenges in life so that they have a better idea on tackling difficult situations. Furthermore, this would help them to harvest patience and other good qualities which makes them fit as an individual who could do good things for the society without paying them reward. A best illustration for this is the story Mr. Robert Downey Jr., who later became a Hollywood actor who won Oscars many times. Providing him with positive ideas during his life behind bars enabled him to mold a successful life and later became part of the community services as well. To conclude, in my opinion, I completely disagree with the statement and believes that involving people who had a bad life has to be prepared well before letting them do unpaid voluntary works and would like to recommend the government to abolish such kinds of laws before proper research on the mentality of these individuals.