What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

Television is undoubtedly one amongst the major inventions of mankind and hence attracted people of every age groups. Although it has gained immense popularity, this has also led to discussions on the advantages and disadvantages of it especailly on younger age groups. This essay will potray the pros and cons of television on children. One of the main positive side of kids watching tv is that it helps them to develop interest in learning and remembering them easily. As it is a visual media, the scenes displayed on it are graphically appealing and therefore stored easily in the memory of a child. Hence, children enjoy watching it and also memorizing it with minimal effort. For instance, a teenager who watches shows relating to the space and planets of the galaxy tend to develop interest in astronomy. On the other hand, spending too much time on television stems the strain on the eyes, imparing imparting vision in kids. Youngsters often tend to sit for long hours watching their favourite shows, series or games, leading to severe strain on their eyesight. Recent studies have shown that there is a surge in usage of glasses amoungst the youngsters. To conclude, television is a major invention of humans and has become a part and parcel of our lives. It has been a great help to create interest in learning new things for children and help them in remembering concepts. Although it has advantages, one can never forget that it is also one of the major cause in the increase of the usage of high powered spectacles among children.