In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today, many countries are facing the same problem. The problem is that an increasing number of people suffer from illnesses caused by the tendency of consuming junk food. Therefore, the governments consider putting a higher tax on this sort of food. So, in this essay, I would like to explain the reasons why I support that idea as well as provide a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. To begin with, the main issue caused by eating junk food is health problems, such as obesity or diabetes. This situation pushes governments to give a lot of money to treat them well. Nevertheless, after decades, the public money, which is used to cure them, is getting insufficient. So, the extra charge that the official imposes on fast- food restaurants can be used to treat them. The idea comes from the cigarette industries in Indonesia, for instance, they have to pay a certain amount of money in order to cover up the problems that they caused, so that, the government can alter the public money to be used in other important matters (e.g education or infrastructure). Secondly, the notion of having a higher task in fast- food restaurants can lower the frequency of eating it. Thus, many people may change their preference to eat. However, this might be followed by the spreading of healthy eating restaurants, for example, salad-on-the-go that emerges in Indonesia 2 years ago. By doing so, people can start to alter their food preference and in the long term period, they can live a healthy lifestyle. As a result, from a bigger perspective, the number of obesity or diabetes cases in a particular country may reduce at a significant level. In a nutshell, imposing a higher tax on junk food restaurant can have positive effects on the government as well as the population, such as helping to finance the health costs caused by them and lowering the frequency of eating fast food. Hence, in the end, I would reiterate my belief that I really agree with that statement.