Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that we should increase the prices of sugar products so that less sugar will be eaten. I think that this may cause damage to the sugar industry and cause people to live unhappy lives, although people can be healthier. This idea can pose a threat to the sweet-food manufacturers because there will be fewer people buying their goods. As we all know, the higher the price of an item is,the less customers buy it. So if we make sugary products more expensive, a lot of people will abandon them and buy other products to enjoy themselves and as a result, the sweet food industry will fail to sell their products and be endangered. For example, citizens may prefer to buy more fast food like chips to have fun instead of sugar drinks or foods. The damage to the sugar industry may also lead to the unemployment of workers. The higher price may also be responsible for an unhappy life. It is evident that sweet foods and beverages are the favourite goods of many civilians and eating sugar is a good way to enable people to feel happiness. So when we raise the prices of sugary products, fewer people can afford them and they lose a method to satisfy themselves. This will result in a worse life, especially for the poor-- they have few methods to have fun and one of the main ways is prohibited. However, people may have better bodies if they take in less sweet things. The high level of sugar is always a cause to fat and can present a challenge to people ’s health. With the rise of sugary goods’ prices, more and more people will have other foods and drinks and this has a good effect on their fitness. For instance, they may eat more fruits to take place sweet foods and fruits are beneficial to them. There is slang ‘an apple a day and doctors keep away’. To sum up, make sugary items more expensive may allow people to have a better conditions of their bodies, but this will lead to damage to the sugar industry and enable people to live a unhappy life.