All over the world scientists are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Over the last decade, people around the globe have witnessed a surge in the number of cases of obesity. The issue of being overweight has not been only for a certain age group but has affected both adults and youngsters. The article intends to outline some of the causes of this issue and to suggest remedies to tackle them. Perhaps, one of the major contributors towards making people obese is the sedentary lifestyle being followed. This means that adults and teenagers are more inclined to perform tasks or spend time doing a task with very minimal movements. They are not interested in doing exercises. A possible remedy to this is that the companies and educational institutions promote people to be active by giving them subsidised rates at the gym or providing the infrastructure for those on the premises. Another major factor is the unhealthy eating habits of the growing population. The public has tended to rely on junk foods or convenience foods as a major part of their diet. This has resulted in an excessive amount of fats being stored in the bodies along with deficiencies in required nutrition levels. Celebrities or figureheads must lead campaigns promoting the benefits of having a balanced diet. To sum up all the above, obesity has been a concerning issue for mankind in these recent years. The main reasons for this are the sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits, however, these can be overcome by leading an active style of living simultaneously with healthy eating habits.