It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the vadvantages and disadvages of this?

Though it has become pervasive amongst students to take an year break either to work in a company or to go on a vacation after passing the high school, it comes with its own advantages and disadvantage. This essay will discuss how a gap year would be helpful for pupils to gain additional knowledge as well as to start afresh despite having to combat the troubles inorder to fetch an admission for further education. Though the idea of taking a break particularly for seeking employment or travelling is unpopular among some people, others believe that it will not only help garner extra knowledge but also make an individual more sensible. In other words, as students are implementing tasks practically at work, they will understand the intricacies involved in it; as a result, they gain practical exposure. For example, if pupils try to explore their work of interests manually, they gain explicit knowledge on the respective field which could help them hone their intellect. Moreover, holidaying would help them purge the stress of examinations and replenish their energy. As a matter of fact, it has been observed that people perform better, for instance, in schools and colleges when they take a break from studies. By contrast, not seeking an admission in a university immediately after graduating from the high school might decrease the chance of getting an admit for students. This is because the universities assume that the students would forget the fundamental concepts which they have learnt in previous years at school, if they have a gap-year in their resume. For instance, they might score less in their undergraduate level exams since their basics are not clear, thereby, tarnishing the reputation of the institution. Therefore, it is said that it is prudent to take an admit promptly after completing 12th grade. In conclusion, although youngsters may face difficultly in terms of landing a seat in a reputed university, nevertheless delaying their admission will help them gain tacit knowledge while rejuvenating themselves.