It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Though it has become pervasive amongst students to take a year break either to work in a company or to go on a vacation after passing high school, it comes with its own advantages and disadvantage. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks, that is, of how a gap year would be helpful for pupils to gain additional knowledge as well as to start afresh despite having to combat the troubles in order to fetch an admission for further education. Though the idea of taking a break particularly for seeking employment or travelling is unpopular among some people, others believe that it will not only help build proficiency but also make an individual more sensible. In other words, as students are implementing tasks practically at work, they will understand the intricacies involved in it; as a result, they get practical exposure. For example, if pupils try to explore their work of interests manually, they gain explicit knowledge on the respective field, which could help them hone their intellect. Moreover, going on a holiday would help them purge the stress of examinations and replenish their energy. As a matter of fact, it has been observed that people perform better, for instance, in schools and colleges when they take a break from studies. By contrast, the disadvantage of going on a vacation, and not seeking university admission immediately after graduating from high school might decrease the chance of getting an admit for students. This is because the universities assume that an individual would forget the fundamental concepts which they have learnt in previous years at school if they would have a gap-year in their resume. For instance, they might score fewer marks in their undergraduate level exams, thereby, tarnishing the reputation of the institution. Therefore, it is said that it is prudent to take an admit promptly after completing 12th grade. In conclusion, although youngsters may face difficultly in terms of landing a seat in a reputed institute, nevertheless many have a mindset that delaying their admission will help them gain tacit knowledge while rejuvenating themselves. In my view, benefits outweighed the deficient.