A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Nowadays, globetrotting is one of the major sources of income in many countries. However, some people believe that mismanagement of it may invite many problems in future. In my opinion, tourist activities have more merits than demerits, and this essay discusses the both pros and cons of this. To begin with, touristry has impacted a large number of people all around the world and provided good opportunities to both individuals and governments. First of all, many jobs are created by the rise in tourist activities which are not possible without tourism. For instance, the hotel industry and the transportation sector are the direct beneficiaries of it. Apart from this, it has many indirect advantages to the local economy of that area such as markets get new customers and businessmen can increase their earnings. Secondly, it is a major source of revenue for governments and they can utilise this fund for infrastructure developments like constructing new roads and resorts. Thus, tourism alone can result in the overall development of a place. On the other hand, it has some drawbacks to the environment and the local community. To accommodate a large number of people, hotels and resorts are often constructed without following the rules and regulations. For instance, forests are cut to make space for new construction which damage the natural habitat of birds and animals. Also, such ventures are responsible for the rapid increase in air pollution. Another disadvantage is to the local culture and tradition because In conclusion, although tourist travel have some negative effects on local culture and environment, these things can be controlled by imposing strict laws considering their huge benefits. Overall, in my opinion, the advantages of tourist clearly outweigh its disadvantages.