The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

There is no doubt that smoking is becoming more widespread in different parts of the developed world. There are several causes and measures that could be taken by the governments and individuals to improve and solve the situation. There are many factors that have led smoking habit to be popular across the globe. One of the main causes can be that a person might be surrounded by negative peers that could affect his thoughts and damage his ethics and behaviour. Moreover, the individual became more isolated and suffer from loneliness. Another reason can be that since the emergence of modern appliances like mobile phones, other foreign cultures have created an enourmous impact on youths in other countries. This means that adults can copy their actions in different ways. For instance, many young people are obsessed with famous celebrities in Hollywood, so they may smoke a cigarette as well as their celebrities do. In spite of these causes, there are several solutions that could be implemented to reduce the dangers of smoking. A simple good solution can be that the smokers can replace smoking by eating healthy food. The second solution could be that adults should avoid negative and bad friends. Furthermore, they have to be always keep in touch with their families and positive peers. The third measure would be taken by the governments that they can offer conferences and events that show the dangers of smoking and how smoking can cause health issues like lungs failure. A particularly good example here is that a recent study indicated that 50 percent of smokers around the globe have stopped smoking after joining a convention about throat cancer. In conclusion, while there are infinite causes of smoking, there are several measures that could be implemented to tackle this problem.