It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that saving wild animals and their natural habitats would cost a huge amount of state subsidies which should be allocated to other essential projects. Personally, I completely disagree with this view. Clearly, protecting wildlife needs a great deal of money. In many parts of the world, people still keep the outdated thought that parts of the body of natural animals can cure various human diseases, which encourage illegal hunting and trade. Therefore, governments have to put considerable resources to prevent these problems and educate local people in order to preserve wildlife. Furthermore, the industrialization these days would force a host of species to the edge of extinction. If the survival of these creatures are properly concerned, some sanctuaries would be built and financially supported to rescue and raise vulnerable and endangered species, which may cost a large national budget. Despite these above arguments, I believe that states should invest in wildlife conservation because its benefits are far more significant than those of other projects. Firstly, the survival of wild animals would keep the balance in the food chain. Indeed, maintaining the population of natural birds is an effective way to control the increasing number of insects which could damage crops and bring several serious infection diseases for humans. Secondly, natural habitats are also crucial for our lives, since primary forests can stabilize the earth’s climate as well as prevent the soil erosion and flood. Therefore, preserving these areas would ensure the sustainable development of human beings. In conclusion, although wildlife protection can cost a certain amount of money, it seems to me that these projects should be encouraged due to its long term positive impacts.