Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been considered that the higher number of working hours is beneficial the success in the economy of a country in contrast to other nations with lower average working time. I disagree with that perspective, and the following essay will provide the reasons. Thinking that long hours of labor guarantee more work is done seems obvious; however, some successful countries with leading economies have demonstrated the opposite by being very productive with a reduced schedule, and less laboring time. Such is the case of countries like Germany, which has been recognized to have the lowest average number of hours worked annually, which is 1400, and yet it is the third strongest economy in the world which is worth 1.3 trillion dollars. Their focus has been mainly on utilizing more technology, and a philosophy to work smarter rather than harder. On the other hand, a different scenario is seen from nations that have the perspective that longer schedules will grant a higher yield in the economy. Unfortunately, the extended working periods do not necessarily bring the expected results. According to “The World In Data” a website dedicated to sharing statistic trends worldwide showed that South Africa that has relatively weak finances has the toughest working conditions, and has an averaged of 2300 hours that a worker has to do yearly. In conclusion, a more extensive schedule in the workforce does not necessarily translate into more productivity and a more efficient local economy, therefore, governments could implement a system similar to the one used by Germany based on High-Tech and innovative ideas.