Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past few years, a tremendous increase in the number of cars has been observed. Such a rise in vehicle tolls resulted in large traffic congestions in big cities. I completely agree with it. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will put forth details to justify my views as well as possible preventive measures for this concern. To commence with, people depend more on private vehicles for a comfortable and convenient journey. To elaborate, personal vehicles would assist people to reach their destination without a delay. Individuals could plan their journey according to their convenience. For example, a survey conducted by a reputed journal in India has published that 57% of people own cars for a better travel experience. Secondly, nowadays people are financially secured enough to buy individual vehicles. Since they have sufficient money backing, they would invest as much as money for such luxurious things without any further thought. Moreover, people think that owning a car is part of their social status. Nevertheless, authorities could counteract such a huge number of vehicles by better modification of the public transport system. To explain, if government money is utilised for the makeover of such a system in a country could attract people to use them. Furthermore, such alteration could become revolutionary since they are cheaper enough to afford by people. Besides that, if the government could council people to switch over to a car-pooling system, it could bring enormous change in the number of cars on the road. For example, In 2008, the government of Karnataka implemented this system in which people could share their cabs to travel in one direction. Such a measure led to decreased traffic jams on the roads of Karnataka. Hence to conclude, it is obvious that an increased number of private vehicles could be led to severe bottleneck congestions. Therefore government should take wise measures to tackle this problem.