Some people think that children should aim to be the best at what they are doing while others believe it is not necessary for them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two opposing views regarding whether kids goal should be to achieve the best at what they do or to let them be who they are. This essay will explore both sides of the argument and my opinion will be provided. On the one hand, those who believe the most important goal for children is to be the best thing that kids who aim for the best try harder than others, and this can help them more in terms of their academic. For instance, students whose goal is to achieve A in the class are the hard worker ones and the ones who spend more time studying than others. Also, this can improve their self-esteem they reach their goals of being on top of the class. Thus, according to these folks, the main focus should be put on being number one in everything. On the other hand, in my perspective, the formula above can not be applied to all activities children do. For instance, in sports competition being the best applies to only one person. If the goal is to be the best, then only one can achieve this goal and the rest would be left with disappointment and sadness. Besides, being the best can put children in lots of unnecessary stress of competing with other peers which are not healthy for them at all. Furthermore, by not being the best, one can easily lose his self-esteem Overall, although some might argue and opt that the emphasis should be put on being the best for youth to help them try harder, my point is asking our kids to always be the best can be counterproductive and why we should not let them be who they are.