Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the contemporary era, instead of working for a company, individuals prefer to work for themselves. Firstly, this essay would discuss the reasons for this trend. Secondly, it would elaborate the demerits that could arise if a person opens up their own business. Since individuals enjoy the freedom of working on their own projects. Thus, people prefer self-employment rather than working for someone else. If a person is working on a personal assignment, then he or she could set up a deadline for the project as per their schedule. This means that they do not need to report the progress to a team lead as they would normally do while working for a company. They just need to communicate with their client. As a result, people tend to open up their own business. For instance, according to a recent survey held in India, which is a country situated in Asia, the younger generation finds it fascinating if they open up their own company. On the downside, there are certain demerits of self-employment. Since there is no guarantee that a person would receive a project on their own. Hence, there is no assured income that they would receive at the end of the month. This means that the remuneration that a person would acquire in a month would depend upon the projects that they complete in this time period. Consequently, If individuals do not have any projects of their own, then they would be forced to dissolve their enterprise due to the financial crisis. For example, according to the government of Canada, which is a country situated in North America, forty per cent of startups fail in their first year because they do not have adequate clients. To conclude, this essay discussed that people prefer to be self-employed because they cherish the freedom that they obtain while working on a personal assignment. Further, it discussed that individuals would suffer financially if they do not have enough work to sustain their enterprise.