the prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. government funding should reflect this. to what extent do you agree?

The amount of money spent on health illnesses is a major concern in every country. Government fundings are more oriented on treatments and drugs instead of trying to prevent them. I agree with the fact that more funds should be directed on disease prevention but also investing in more effective drug therapies is necessary. Fristly First, it is better to prevent than cure, in fact one of the main reasons why a lot of funding are spent on treatments is that there is not a serious plan on how to prevent them. For example, many chronic diseases are caused by a poor lifestyle. In USA the majority of the population eat junk food and they live sedentary life, the two major causes of chronic illnesses such as diabetes, cardiovascular problems and obesity. Instead of trying to cure these pathologies with high cost and few results, it would be better to invest more money teaching people what to eat, explaining them that do some sort of exercise on a daily basis will avoid the aforementioned health conditions in the future. Therefore a lot of money can be saved and potentially be invested on improving the lifestyle. Secondly, I strongly believe that scientist and researchers with the help of new technologies will lead to new discoveries on drug effectiveness. For instance, the main goal should not be to just produce more medicine and be able to cure more people but instead, trying to create new therapies that are more effective and less expensive. Therefore, the amount of pills each person need will be drastically reduced but at the same time it won't affect the efficacy of the drug itself. Thus, a lot of money can be saved with this process and potentially be reinvested in more reasearch. In conclusion, global health issues are more and more increasing all around the world and government prefer to invest in medicine rather than trying to prevent diseases. I believe that reducing the number of people that need medicine is the best way to save money and increase the overall health within the population, and than focusing on more effective treaments.