In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Elders in our families are a real asset to the younger generation. It is a little difficult but a very practical solution to send them to an old home when they attain a certain age so that they are taken care of nicely, as it might become difficult for the young working members to perform this task. The expenses for this arrangement is borne by the children more often and sometimes by the state. I believe that this cost should be shared in a well thought through proportion by both parties. Firstly, few would argue that they are paying taxes to the government and hence it is the responsibility of the governing body to take care of them when they grew old. For instance, the members of the old home council are of the opinion that the family should bear such expenses even though the person has paid his or her taxes. The reason being that the government utilizes this money to provide a robust infrastructure for the benefit of the citizens. Also, there are expenses on building other facilities which are enjoyed by their countrymen, which is taken care of from the tax contributions. Although people pay taxes they have also striven hard to bring up their children to become what they currently are. For example, most parents have supported and guided their children for their betterment and made them self-sufficient. Hence I am of the opinion that the immediate family is majorly responsible for their elders as their contribution has been larger towards the family than to the state. In conclusion, I would state that the family and the authorities should both contribute to the welfare of its elderly population, ensuring that they are treated well and are properly cared for, as they have played a pivotal role in building both the family and the nation.