In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Working from home is becoming increasingly popular. By taking advantage of modern technology, more and more businesses are choosing to locate their employees at home rather than at the office. Though working remotely does offer some obvious benefits, it also has some drawbacks that I will discuss in this essay. Not only working from home is hassle-free and economical, but also results in increased productivity. It saves time as there is no commuting to work and because of no or less travelling, natural resources like gasoline and environment are being preserved. Moreover, the costs associated with the transportation are minimal like repair and maintenance and leasing costs of vehicle etcetera. And as far as the businesses are concerned, overheads costs such as office rentals and operating expenses are saved. Recent studies back this whole notion of flexible working and proved that flexible working is far more productive than traditional working. Because of these ubiquitous advantages, more and more companies are choosing this. Humans are social animals and the need to connect with other community members is crucial for all of us. Continuously operating from home only can result in petty frustration and boredom, and can affect work efficiency drastically because of lack of motivation or depression. In addition, there are so many jobs that require physical presence at the site such as construction projects, and because some workers are working at the site and some from their place, this can cause imbalance and might lead to problems among the company’s employees. Furthermore, abusing is also possible as there is no traditional checking in and checking out and employees might slip from jobs as it would be easier than skipping from the office. A friend of mine was so distracted from operating at home due to his children that he had to lose his job because of his poor performance. To conclude, though working from home offers huge incentives to employees and businesses in the form of saving costs and increased productivity, but it also can result in inequality among employees and decreased performance.