Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

Finding a job is becoming increasingly competitive these days. Even older people have to keep working and compete with younger job hunters to get hired somewhere. This essay will explore why this trend is happening and come up with a solution. The most important reason why the job is becoming competitive between the older and younger folks is due to the imbalance between job demands and job supplies. In other words, the number of people looking for jobs is higher than actual job positions. The main reason for the increase in demand is population growth, while job opportunities cannot grow as fast as the population. Another reason lies in the fact that the cost of living is increasing, so people have to work even after they are retired in order to be able to pay their expenses. Which also cause a climb in the number of people seeking a job and create a vicious circle. Thus, older job seekers have to be competing with the new workforce in order to make a living. To tackle this problem, the government should increase pension payments for older workers in order to prevent the need for work after a certain age like 65. Therefore, people will get retire after the age of 65 and no need to compete with younger ones. Besides, the government can subsidise housing and some community services to reduce the cost of living and reduce expenses. As a result of this approach, the number of people competing in one job can be reduced dramatically. To sum up, the high cost of living and imbalance between job demand and supply cause lots of competition in job markets. To tackle this problem, the government should make people retire at a certain age and make sure they have enough money to make a living by increasing the pension and reducing the cost of living.