Some people say it is acceptable to use animals for our benefit, others say it is wrong to exploit them. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

The exploitation of animals is an issue which is often in the Western media these days. An increasing number of people believe it is wrong to use animals for any reason; however, I agree with those who accept the use of animals for certain purposes. A growing number of people disagree with the exploitation of animals on ethical and environmental grounds. Many people believe that animals have the same rights as humans since animals think and feel emotion and pain as humans do. In the same way that people shouldn’t be exploited because of this, neither should animals. Moreover, the exploitation of cattle and sheep for their meat creates a huge amount of methane from the animals themselves. Also, the shipping of meat around the world creates a lot of carbon dioxide. Both of these gases are increasing global warming, and as responsible citizens of the earth, we should try and limit global warming as it is a threat to everyone. Although there are strong reasons against the use of animals, I believe that the use of animals for medical testing and the consumption of locally farmed animals is acceptable. Modern medicine, which saves countless lives, is tested on animals before humans. This is done in order not to endanger humans, and without this, it is possible that many people would suffer. Furthermore, the consumption of locally sourced meat removes the concern of greenhouse gas emission from transportation. If the meat consumed is chicken or duck, this further reduces the greenhouse emissions due to less methane being produced by these animals. In conclusion, although there are ethical and environmental reasons for not exploiting animals, I believe that medical testing on animals benefits society and the consumption of locally produced meat does not have a negative environmental impact. Government and business should ensure that animals are responsibly used and that no abuse occurs.