Some people believe that an armed police force would cause a high level of violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Armouries and explosives, since the day they were invented, have become an indispensable means to maintain peace. It is, however, believed by a certain number of citizens that equipping policemen with heavy weapons would lead to severe battery to the public. In this essay, I will challenge this school of thought. Firstly, policemen, especially special troops, have always been carrying pistols and electric batons for years, yet almost never have any out-of-control cases been recorded. In other words, being certified for carrying weapons is what defines policemen. The image of a sheriff in uniform with a star on his chest and a gun hanging on his belt has been embedded into people’s minds as a signal of power and a sense of security. Additionally, had it not been for the reaction of armed policemen during robberies or terrorism, hardly can we imagine the damage that would have been dealt with by the stakeholders. Secondly, security forces are well-trained people with high responsibility. To be qualified, apart from having a spotless record and studying vigorously for the entrance exam, one must have gone through a strict and harsh training process that lasts for years, not only for combat skills but also soft skills necessary in social situations. Having that in mind, there is not the slightest chance that an officer would take out his gun and pull the trigger without well-thought-of the consequences. Besides, since working for the government, which is ultimately owned by citizens, a policeman has to be responsible for any disadvantageous action towards residential members. Ergo, no man would risk his career by hurting others for no reason. In conclusion, a police force armed with weapons is unlikely to cause any brutalities to the society owing to their thorough training process and a high sense of responsibility.