Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that teenagers ought to be shown how to compete, while other people say that in order to be a better person, children need to have the spirit of cooperation instead of competition. Although cooperation will help children to become excellent team player, competition on the other hand will enhance children ’s ability to be prepared for the future. On the one hand, team goals and objectives could be attained when each member cooperate and work in unison. This means that a team of children could combine their efforts towards achieving success by not relenting and encouraging themselves. Furthermore, there would be a failure in the team if there is the presence of any weak link among the members. For example, the cooperation among the under-13 football team of Nigeria that went for African tournament in Uganda won the final match simply because they played together towards the end. In my opinion, coming together with some players will merely be to achieve team goals, which is definitely not as important as personal and future aspirations. On the other hand, competition skills in children will allow them to prepare for future endeavours. That is to say that inculcating this behaviour in children will allow them to do well in life because it is required in a workplace where people are being ranked at the end of every year in order for the company to be able to recognize the best performers. For instance, it is shown that children that are pushed to excel than their peers are better after some years because they have been taught that success in life comes not only by hard-working but by also being competitive. Therefore, I agree that working to be the best will take someone further in life than simply working along with others. In conclusion, despite the fact that some are of the school of thought that cooperation should be taught to school children because it might help the team achieve success; however, I suggest that competition is more preferable as it will be advantageous in the future working environment.