Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is known that sometimes people buy things that are out of their economic possibilities and this can lead them into debt. They usually do this with the intention of being accepted in a group or a community. One possible way to anticipate this behaviour is trying to make the person conscious of the amount of money he is wasting. In modern days, becoming part of a group is fundamental to feel accepted, especially for young people. The world is full of people ready to judge the way you live or you dress. It is never easy to be judged, especially for some people, that may be insecure and shy. To give an example, a girl might want to buy the latest version of a smartphone or the most trendy purse on the market, just to feel well-seen by her friends or colleagues. However, nowadays these items are really expensive and some people have to face an important economic effort to buy them. Young people, with their first salaries, may spend more money than they are able to afford, ending up being in debt. It is important to prevent this behaviour, but it is never easy to escape from this attitude by ourselves. One way to avoid this problem is to talk with someone. He can be a friend, a parent or maybe a psychologist, however, the main point is to find someone who can help you to become conscious of your expenditures. For instance, a good try is to share with your parents your debit card account, in this way, they can track the money you spend. In conclusion, someone may spend more than he can afford due to his insecurities, but is fundamental to understand that the best way to prevent the problem is with the help of someone and not just by ourselves.