Traffic and housing problems in major cities could be solved by moving large companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In light of mounting problems concerning traffic and housing in metropolitan areas, the question of how to reverse the status quo has been a topic of public interest lately, with some proposing relocating big businesses and industrial plants, along with their people, to rural locales. While this proposal is theoretically beneficial, I would argue that it could lead to far-reaching negative repercussions, so other solutions need considering. Granted, shifting large corporations, factories, and their workers to the countryside would effectively mitigate the problem of overcrowding in metropolises, which is the major contributor to traffic congestion and housing shortages in those areas. However, proponents of this scheme often fail to factor in its concomitant adverse impact on rural communities. Specifically, a massive influx of new businesses and migrants could strain local resources and infrastructure, leading to such problems as higher traffic volumes and soaring rental costs in rural locations. Such a relocation proposal, in other words, would not really address traffic and housing problems, but rather shifting them from one place to another. Given the aforementioned limitations, the government should consider other methods of combating housing shortages and traffic congestion in urban locations. One viable solution is to allocate more funds to upgrading public transportation, such as by developing a speedy mass transportation network. This measure has proven successful in Japan, where bullet trains enable commuters to go back and forth without having to relocate to cities for work. As a result, this country has managed to curb its urban population growth and, by extension, prevent increased traffic volumes and escalating housing prices, without having to relocate all big businesses to the countryside. In conclusion, while moving big corporations and factories, as well as their workforces, to rural locales could theoretically counter urban traffic jams and housing problems, I would contend that this proposal would come at the expense/cost/price of many serious problems for local communities. For this reason, other solutions like investing in public transport should be taken into consideration.