Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that countries should allocate more funds to education than to leisure and competitive games. It is agreed that national budgets should prioritise schools and universities over sports and play. First, I will discuss the economic prosperity that education can bring to a nation and secondly, the social welfare it has. Investment in its education system is one of the best ways to improve a country’s economy in the long term. The more students entering third -level education, the more skilled a workforce will be and this leads to higher innovation and productivity. For example, South Korea and Finland took the decision to invest a large proportion of their budget in schooling and this has reaped benefits in the form of high-tech companies such as Samsung and Nokia. So, education is a powerful tool for the development of the nation. Education is not just about improving the economy it also has many social benefits. Well educated people tend to be more aware of social evils such as drugs, alcohol and sexual health. For example, Singapore educates all of its citizens on the dangers of drugs and this has resulted in one of the lowest levels of drug abuse in the world. Therefore investing in education is helpful to teach children valuable soft skills, such as teamwork and work ethic which highly helps curb social ills. In conclusion, education should take precedence over sports when it comes to funding due to the many socio-economic benefits it brings. It is recommended that governments continue to pump money into schools and universities in order to realise long-term goals.