As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the users should cover the costs. Discuss and give your opinion.

With the growing number of vehicles on the roads, a lot of expenses are required for the building and maintenance of road infrastructure.Some folks argue that the governments should fund these projects while others believe that it is the responsibility of citizens to pay the dues. I think that the overall expenses should be borne by the rulers who are already taking a large sum of money from the residents in the form of taxes. On one hand, the individuals are responsible for the growth of motorcars on the highways which cause damage to the infrastructure and contribute towards traffic congestion.In order to cope with these issues the executives of states need to allocate huge budgets.The under-developed nations are already facing an economic crisis, hence, many believe that extra spending should be curtailed and if required it should be charged by the administration to check inflation. For example, Srilanka has to pay more than 10 billion dollars of debt in a year making the officials worried about the food and fuel shortages because of lack of money. Such countries cannot afford to spend revenue on road networks thus needing the support of the populace in travel-related works. On the other hand, the masses are also having financial constraints.They have to look after the household and pay the utility bills. Moreover, the cost of groceries and the tuition fee for kids make it impossible for them to pay the toll after every few kilometres of journey.In our country, many daily wagers living on the outskirts of cities have to move to the city centre for jobs.Even if they use public transport, they are charged extra fare to give the toll thus adding to their woes. Similarly, those travelling in private vehicles are barely making ends meet.Extra charges will make it difficult for them to manage the household.I myself avoid long journeys by car to save the cash for the essential items. In a nutshell, the process of construction and repair is an expensive business that puts pressure on the economy of developing nations but in my opinion, asking the over-burdened populace for more taxes is not the right approach.Authorities should look after such developments by cutting down on other spending.