The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The number of vehicles in the United Kingdom has increased drastically. Hence, in the contemporary era, it is often argued that individuals should use other ways to commute, and countries all over the world should come together and create certain laws that would restrict certain people to own and drive a car. I, completely agree with the given notion. A number of arguments surround my opinion. People should be encouraged to use public transport such as trains and city busses. If there is less traffic on the road, then the smoke that is released from a vehicle when it is running would also decrease. Since the smoke contains various gases such as carbon dioxide, which is harmful for our environment. Thus, when vehicles would decrease, carbon dioxide would also drop significantly. As a result, it would be advantageous for the environment. For instance, in Canada, which is a country situated in North America, seventy-three per cent of its citizens use public transport. Consequently, people in Canada rarely have lung diseases such as asthma. Since the government has the right and the power to create laws. Therefore, privileged countries around the world should come together on the same platform and take some concrete steps to save the planet earth. If developed nations such as the United States, Canada, Japan and Germany come together and create a global law, which would restrict people, who could own a car, then they could limit the number of cars present in their respective countries. As a result, the demand of fossil fuels such as petroleum and diesel would drop significantly. For example, various countries in Europe have decided to stop the manufacturing of diesel cars to mitigate global warming. To conclude, I agree with the view that we should encourage people to use public transport such as busses and trains. Furthermore, I believe that if nations worldwide develop certain laws with mutual agreement that would restrict vehicles on roads, then it would help our environment to sustain.