Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility forsugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that sugar is not healthy food, and over consuming it is the primary factor that makes people obese. While some people argue that the government should take some measures to diminish sugar consumption, others believe that controlling sugar intake is up to the individual. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both sides and explain why I think ordinary people should be responsible for their diet. There are some people who believe that the government should create a way to control the consumption of sugar. First, they believe the government should run campaigns to teach people how unhealthy those carbohydrates are. For example, there are some commercials that try to convince people that smoking is harmful to their health, and the authorities should create commercials with regards to sugar. In addition, they argue that the government is responsible for public health, which means governors should do what is necessary to improve people's health condition. On the other hand, there are those who argue that individual freedom should be respected. In other words, the government should not worried about their diet because people have the right to decide what they eat. To illustrate, they believe there is numerous government's interference in our lives, and campaigning against sugar would be another one. Besides, many people think the authorities can solve all the problems of society, such as over-consuming sugar. Nevertheless, necessary changes come from the society as a whole, not from politicians, and, as a consequence, if society understands that over-consuming carbohydrate is harmful, they will adjust their habits naturally. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that individuals should decide whether or not they will consume carbohydrates. This is because ordinary people know what is better for them and their freedom to eat what they want has to be respected.