Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It goes without saying that companies have become increasingly competitive throughout the years, especially in capitalist nations. As a result, several individuals work overtime on a daily basis in order to accomplish their job responsibilities, although they overlook their leisure time. In this context, I tend to believe that it is harmful to employees as it may bring more problems than benefits. Firstly, the obvious argument against it is that extra hours hinder a great number of people from enjoying valuable moments with their families, such as a birthday party, since they can not be present. Furthermore, despite knowing that toddlers grow up rapidly, some parents do not spend sufficient time with them as they need to earn money to support their families. Another downside is that overloaded individuals tend to develop mental disorders considering that they do not have days off to relax their minds. Take burnout syndrome as an example, it is a response to a significant stress in the workplace. Moreover, it is undoubtedly true that a shortage of joyful activities impacts one’s creativity and productivity, resulting in poor performances in business. There are, however, some advantages. It is widely known that workaholics are likely to succeed because of their commitment to the companies, which makes them thrive in life. In addition to that, managers not only value striving professionals but also reward them for excellent achievements whenever is possible. Consequently, some people work hard nowadays to receive a promotion or another kind of benefit. To sum up, it is undeniable that working long hours bring some advantages, particularly in terms of career. Nevertheless, from my point of view, the negative aspects outweigh the positive ones in this situation.